New federal regulations regarding the labeling of “gluten free” products…
New federal regulations regarding the labeling of “gluten free” products will be going into effect on August 5.
The rules for labeling a product as gluten free were set forth by the FDA last summer and companies must comply by August 5, 2014. The basics of this voluntary regulation state that if a product is to be labeled gluten free, it must contain gluten levels below 20 parts per million and cannot contain any grains that are derived from gluten, such as wheat, barley, rye, and hybrids.
Here at Hudson Allergy, we’re pleased to see this progress.
“This has been long-awaited,” Dr. Tim Mainardi said. “This regulation will be critical for millions of Americans and will make it infinitely easier for our patients with gluten intolerances and allergies as well as celiac disease to adhere to their diets and find the right foods.”
Before these regulations there was no clear process for identifying gluten free foods. At the time, the best way to determine the truth behind gluten free claims was for products to obtain a trusted third-party seal of approval. While the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) required manufacturers to label products that contained the eight most common allergens, it did not take cross-contamination into consideration, whereas the new gluten free regulation does.
This new rule covers FDA-regulated products (food and dietary supplements) only. This means that foods regulated by the USDA (e.g. meat and poultry), cosmetics, alcohol, prescription and over-the-counter medications, and pet foods will not be subject to the regulation. Any product whose labels claim “made without gluten,” “no gluten,” “made with gluten free ingredients” or similar will be subject to the new rule, as it is comparable to saying it is gluten free. The USDA said it will encourage people to comply with the new regulation, but it does not require businesses to follow FALCPA or the new gluten free rule.
According to the regulation, a product that wishes to be classified as gluten free cannot originate from ingredients that contain gluten, unless those ingredients were processed to remove the gluten.
If you have questions or concerns about gluten free products, or want to be tested for a gluten intolerance or allergy, give us a call. We’d love to meet you! We can be reached at 212-729-1283 or send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org.Search More
Comments are closed.