Hudson Allergy

Tag Archives: gluten free

National Donut Day 2015 in NYC : Our Top 5 Picks for #FoodAllergies

National Donut Day

There are few things in this world more exciting than a full day dedicated to one of our favorite treats – the donut. But we know how hard it can be to get excited about a holiday that revolves around food when it feels like you are allergic to everything. Food allergies are a serious challenge for any diehard foodie, but in a city like New York, there are plenty of options that will satisfy your sugary cravings and let you join in on the celebration. We’ve scoured the city for our favorite allergen friendly bakeries to prove that you can have your cake and eat it too – even if you have allergies. Here our picks for National Donut Day 2015 in NYC.

Grab your coffee and get ready to dunk:

 

1. Erin McKenna’s Bakery: BabyCakes NYC

(gluten free, dairy free, egg free, soy sensitivities)

We love Babycakes for it’s sweet attitude and even sweeter confections. This bakery tops our list because it has everyone covered. Everything the shop serves is gluten free and vegan and many items are also completely soy-free and organic. Walk on over and enjoy!

https://www.erinmckennasbakery.com

 

 2. Baked by Butterfield

(gluten free, vegan)

This bakeshop specializes in the healthier cousin of the fried donut by baking all of their sweet treats to save everyone a few calories, while still making sure not to sacrifice decadence for these delightful treats. Butterfield has a few gluten free and vegan donuts available each day, so it’s the perfect place to drag your food snob friend who rolls their eyes every time you tell them you can’t eat anything on the menu. With flavors like triple chocolate and salted caramel, we guarantee you’ll forget why people love fried donuts anyway – even if just for a second.

http://cargocollective.com/bakedbybutterfield

 

 3. Cinnamon Snail

 (gluten free, vegan, raw )

The Cinnamon Snail is an experience all it’s own. They serve up a wide variety of food from their red truck including tofu subs, Portobello capriccio, even blue corn pancakes, but the star of the show is their awe-inducing donuts. These little guys are made fresh everyday so, while you can never be too sure what they’ll have left when it’s your turn to order, you can be sure that whatever it is will be one of the best pastries you’ve ever tasted. Some of their desserts are gluten free and there are also raw options as well for those that are a little more health conscious than the average dinner. You can even pre-order a box of their deserts for your next fiesta – just don’t forget to invite us!

http://www.cinnamonsnail.com

4. Dun-Well Donuts

(vegan )

Walk into Dun-well donuts and you’ll feel like you’ve been transported back in time to an old fashioned soda shop meets coffee shop that somehow is still hip enough to know and care about your allergies. Surprisingly, it was an episode of the Simpsons that sent Dun-Well’s two co-owners on a failed treasure hunt around the city to find a good vegan donut. With no luck, they decided to create a place of their own that focused on delicious treats, good coffee, and even ice cream. Make sure your phone is fully charged before you hit up this hot spot – this place is sure to inspire your next best Instagram!

http://www.dunwelldoughnuts.com

 5. Donut Plant

 (Egg free)

Donut Plant is a classic New York staple that has been around since the 80s. What’s more is that the recipes used for these melt in your mouth morsels were passed down through generations of the Israel family, dating back to the early 1900s when the current owner’s grandfather started working at his first bakery.

All of the Plant’s donuts are made with all natural ingredients, using organic when possible, and all donuts are egg free. If that doesn’t give you enough reason to stop bye, consider going for their one –of-a-kind square donut with homemade filling in each bite. They even delivery almost everywhere in the city – now this calls for celebration, glad it’s National Donut Day!

 http://doughnutplant.com

 What’s your favorite allergy friendly bakery or restaurant in the city? Let us know below and don’t forget to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for daily updates and helpful tips to make New York City a fun place for food allergy sufferers!

Facebook: Hudson Allergy

Twitter: @HudsonAllergy

FDA’s New Gluten Free Regulations to go in Effect on August 5

New federal regulations regarding the labeling of “gluten free” products will be going into effect on August 5.

The rules for labeling a product as gluten free were set forth by the FDA last summer and companies must comply by August 5, 2014. The basics of this voluntary regulation state that if a product is to be labeled gluten free, it must contain gluten levels below 20 parts per million and cannot contain any grains that are derived from gluten, such as wheat, barley, rye, and hybrids.

Here at Hudson Allergy, we’re pleased to see this progress.

“This has been long-awaited,” Dr. Tim Mainardi said. “This regulation will be critical for millions of Americans and will make it infinitely easier for our patients with gluten intolerances and allergies as well as celiac disease to adhere to their diets and find the right foods.”

Before these regulations there was no clear process for identifying gluten free foods. At the time, the best way to determine the truth behind gluten free claims was for products to obtain a trusted third-party seal of approval. While the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) required manufacturers to label products that contained the eight most common allergens, it did not take cross-contamination into consideration, whereas the new gluten free regulation does.

This new rule covers FDA-regulated products (food and dietary supplements) only. This means that foods regulated by the USDA (e.g. meat and poultry), cosmetics, alcohol, prescription and over-the-counter medications, and pet foods will not be subject to the regulation. Any product whose labels claim “made without gluten,” “no gluten,” “made with gluten free ingredients” or similar will be subject to the new rule, as it is comparable to saying it is gluten free. The USDA said it will encourage people to comply with the new regulation, but it does not require businesses to follow FALCPA or the new gluten free rule.

According to the regulation, a product that wishes to be classified as gluten free cannot originate from ingredients that contain gluten, unless those ingredients were processed to remove the gluten.

If you have questions or concerns about gluten free products, or want to be tested for a gluten intolerance or allergy, give us a call. We’d love to meet you! We can be reached at 212-729-1283 or send us an email at info@hudsonallergy.com.

5 Gluten Free Beers You Need To Know About

With summer and backyard barbecue season now upon us, we at Hudson Allergy know that our patients are itching (no pun intended) to get outdoors and make the most out of the weather. You’ve probably got an invite to an outdoor bash waiting in your email right now. Don’t let a gluten intolerance get in the way of your good time.

Gluten is a protein found in many grains, including wheat, barley and rye (common ingredients in beer). Celiac disease is a hereditary autoimmune disorder that affects the digestive process causing damage in the small intestine and leading to inflammatory changes to other body tissues. A gluten intolerance or gluten allergy causes the body to mount a time-limited response that’s different from that which occurs in people with celiac disease. Gluten intolerance will cause the body to respond to a food likely through a cascade of inflammatory mediators; however, it will usually not cause lasting damage to body tissues.

While few people have a true intolerance to gluten, millions of people still follow a gluten-free diet and might be worried about missing out on a summer party staple – good beer. Thankfully many breweries are sensitive to those who wish to eliminate gluten from their diets and have developed new gluten-free beers.

Here are our favorite gluten-free beers that are safe for our patients to enjoy.

Tweason’ale from Dogfish Head
Brewed with fresh strawberries, sorghum and honey, this ale comes in a 4-pack and is available year-round. A mild sorghum base replaces the more traditional barley.

Anything from New Planet Beer
According to their website, this Colorado-based brewery specializes in certified gluten-free craft beer and offers an array of ales that are brewed from 100% gluten-free ingredients. New Planet Beer also processes their beers with care in order to avoid cross contamination and regularly tests their products to be sure they meet compliance standards.

New Grist from Lakefront Brewery
This session ale is brewed without wheat or barley, and each batch is tested for its gluten contents before it’s bottled and shipped out.

Redbridge from Anheuser-Busch
This gluten-free lager, brewed from sorghum, is from the biggest name in the industry. Sorghum is an old world grain that’s safe for people with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance.

Anything from Wood Chuck Cider
Hard ciders are naturally gluten-free because they are made from apples and no grains, so those looking to steer clear of gluten are free to indulge. Wood Chuck Cider is available in all 50 states and has had each of its styles of ciders tested and declared gluten-free.

It’s important to note that some beers that are billed as gluten-free are actually more accurately described as “gluten removed.” Gluten removed beers are still barley-based but the gluten protein is hydrolyzed (broken down) to remove barley peptide fragments, which makes it safe for drinkers with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau ruled that “gluten removed” beers cannot be labeled as gluten-free because the current methods of testing cannot verify the full removal of gluten from these beers.

Omission Beer is a brewery that specializes in gluten removed beers. While many people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance may drink gluten removed beers without experiencing symptoms, some may still have a reaction. Be sure to check the labels of any beer you enjoy.

Do you have more questions or concerns about gluten-free products? Get in touch! Or, if you’re looking for an allergist, we’d love to meet you. We can be reached at 212-729-1283 or send us an email at info@hudsonallergy.com.